Climbing a “roof mushroom”

Today is the fifth day in a row with avalanche risk 5 in the Dolomites, last Friday was the first day they ever announced that grade for this region.

After having been trapped in Austria due to too much snow I finally made it home, only to find myself confronted with an overhanging, 2.5m tall snow mushroom on top of my roof. I climbed it Cerro Torre style digging my way through it, then shoveled the borders all around the roof, I found the chimney so finally the stove is working and now, after having finished, I realize I should have skied it before taking down all the snow. Oh well… but maybe tomorrow… outside it is snowing like crazy…

And actually I’m really surprised that the roof survived.

I dug a hole and climbed inside.

I dug a hole and climbed inside.

I climbed through it.

I climbed through it digging a half pipe (I learned that very helpful technique on Cerro Torre).

Nice view from the top.

Nice view from the top.

Techo2

I found the chimney.

I found the chimney.

Before...

Before…

... and after

… and after

Leave a Reply

